

Minutes of the open Council meeting held on Tuesday 28 November 2023 from 2.00pm – 5.30pm in Room 218, Whitehead Building, Goldsmiths

MEMBERS:

Aaron Porter	Council Member (Chair)
Dr Ronke Akerele	Council Member (via Microsoft teams)
Monika Barnes	Council Member (via Microsoft teams)
Stella Beaumont	Council Member
Professor Susan Dilly	Council Member
Andrew Laurence	Council Member
Dr Clare McConnell	Council Member
Ben Morton-Wright	Council Member
Pam Raynor	Council Member
Philip Stoltzfus	Council Member
Elsabet Genti	Student Assembly Chair
Professor Kiran Grewal	Elected Council Member
Professor Michael Guggenheim	Elected Council Member (via Microsoft teams)
Kelly Mills	Elected Council Member
Professor Richard Noble	Elected Council Member
Dr Jamie Ward	Elected Council Member
Victoria Chwa	Ex-officio Council Member
Professor Frances Corner	Ex-officio Council Member
Professor David Oswell	Ex-officio Council Member
Professor Ernest Caldwell	Ex-officio Council Member (via Microsoft teams)

ATTENDEES:

Jilly Court	Chief Operating Officer
Matt Brooks	Secretary to Council and Director of Governance and Legal Services
Imran Chughtai	Chief Financial Officer
Professor Matthew Cragoe	Interim Head of School - Professional Studies, Science and Technology (via Microsoft teams)
Professor Adam Dinham	Head of School - Culture and Society (via Microsoft teams)
Susan Edwards	Director of People and Organisational Development (via Microsoft teams)
Dr Stephen Graham	Head of School – Arts and Humanities

Clive Hayter	Director of Strategic Projects and Planning
Simon Hutchinson	Deputy Clerk of the Goldsmiths Company (via Microsoft teams)
Dr Stephen Lake	Director of Communications, Marketing and Recruitment
Isabelle Tarran	SU Campaigns and Activities Officer
In Attendance:	
Sarah Martyn	Interim Head of Secretariat
Emma Joynson-Hicks	Interim Governance Officer
Grant Hamilton Smith	Interim Governance Officer (via Microsoft teams)

Apologies:

Dinah Caine	Council Member (Chair)
Irene Adeyinka	Council Member
Fiona McLaren	Council Member

2:17pm – the meeting started.

1.0 Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

1.1. The Deputy Chair opened the meeting, noting apologies from Dinah Caine, Fiona McLaren and Irene Adeyinka.

Open Session

2.0 Identification of Items for Discussion

2.1. There were no additional items identified for discussion.

3.0 Chair's Actions (Paper T)

- 3.1. Council noted the Chairs Action that had taken place on behalf of Council in appointing:
 - Susan Dilly as Chair of the Nominations and Governance Committee for a term of three years, commencing 25 September 2023 to 31 August 2026.
 - Ronke Akerele as Chair of the People, Organisational Development and Equalities Committee for a term of three years, commencing 3 November 2023 to 31 August 2026.

4.0 Open Minutes of the meeting held on 4 October 2023 (Paper U)

4.1. Council approved the open minutes of the meeting held on 4 October 2023 as a correct record.

5.0 Matters Arising

5.1. There were no matters arising.

6.0 Open Action Tracker (Paper V)

- 6.1. A number of actions remained open, and should Council members have any questions on these, they were encouraged to email them into the Secretariat.
- 6.2. Council noted the open Action Tracker.

Risk Management

7.0 Risk Register (Paper W)

- 7.1. Council noted that a recent internal audit report had given the College a limited level of assurance which had led to a refresh of that work which would be delivered by March 2024. Council would then be provided with markedly different documentation and see a more effective approach.
- 7.2. Council noted the Risk Register as recommended by the Audit and Risk Committee.

Governance

8.0 Remuneration Annual Report (Paper X)

8.1. Council noted the Remuneration Committee Annual Report.

9.0 Modern Slavery Statement 2023 (Paper Y)

9.1. Council approved the 2023 Modern Slavery Statement as recommended by the Audit and Risk Committee.

Committee Impact Reports

- **10.0 External Relations Committee (Paper Z)**
- 10.1. Council noted the External Relations Committee report.

11.0 People, Organisational Development and Equalities Committee (Paper W)

11.1. Council noted the People, Organisational Development and Equalities Committee report.

Policies

12.0 CCTV (Paper BB)

- 12.1. Council approved the refreshed CCTV subject to changing the wording in paragraphs 1.2 and 1.3 "due regard to legislation" to "adherence to legislation".
- 13.0 Freedom of Information Act and Environmental Information Regulations Policy (Paper CC)
- 13.1. Council approved the refreshed Freedom of Information Act and Environmental Information Regulations Policy.

14.0 Heads of Department

- 14.1. Council noted the appointment of the following heads of departments:
 - Rebecca Charlton Psychology
 - Vik Loveday Sociology
- 15.0 Any other business Ranking strategy

15.1. The Senior Management Team were requested to present to the next meeting improvements on quality standards in terms of recruitment. It was also suggested that issues around fundamental processes were also included to ensure that the College was focused on the right issues to ensure that it moved up the tables.

Governance

15.2. Concern was raised about the ability of Trustees to make informed decisions given the lateness of papers to Council and committees which was giving insufficient time to read and digest information. The Secretary to Council advised that it was essential that decision making bodies had sufficient time to read papers that gave appropriate information to ensure robust decision making. Improvements had been made over the last year in implementing processes to ensure papers were sent out within requisite deadlines in advance of meetings. On this occasion, papers had been late due to forces outside the College's control and that student recruitment data continued to shift, so information was only sent out once it had stabilised.

16.0 Date of next meeting

16.1. The date of the next meeting was noted as Tuesday 9 January 2024.

The meeting closed at 5.54pm.