Brian Ferneyhough Symposium


Brian Ferneyhough - a symposium

Wednesday 23 February 2011

Senate House
London WC1E 7HU
Institute for Musical Research

Admission Free

Promoted by: Institute of Musical Research, School of Advanced Study, University of London; Kingston University, London; Centre for Contemporary Music Cultures, Goldsmiths, University of London; Royal Holloway, University of London.
Supported by the John Coffin Trust

Brian Ferneyhough is widely recognized as one of today’s foremost living composers. Since the mid-1970s, when he first gained widespread international recognition, his music has earned him an enviable reputation as one of the most influential creative personalities and significant musical thinkers on the contemporary scene.

Symposium details:

Arnold Whittall The class of ‘43: a context for complexity
Papers by Lois Fitch, Julian Anderson & Fabrice Fitch
Round Table - Ferneyhough’s compositions
Christopher Fox (chair) with Michael Finnissy, Harry Halbreich & Roger Redgate


Papers by Cordulà Pätzold, Klaus Lippe & Matteo Cesari
Round Table - Performing Ferneyhough
Amanda Glauert (chair) with Irvine Arditti, Bridget Carey & Christopher Redgate

Brian Ferneyhough: keynote lecture
Film: Ferneyhough’s 6th Quartet
A documentary tracing the Arditti Quartet’s preparations for the première of Ferneyhough’s sixth string quartet.

Concert: Ensemble Exposé (conducted by Roger Redgate, with soloists Andrew Sparling, Bridget Carey & Julian Warburton)
La chûte d’Icare (solo clarinet and ensemble)
Incipits (solo viola, oboe, percussion and ensemble)
Flurries (ensemble)
O Lux (UK première)

Chancellor’s Hall, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU
Admission free - registration essential via email
School of Advanced Study/Institude of Musical Research   

Supported by the John Coffin Trust 

Edition Peters Website