Each year the Department awards the following prizes for academic achievement in BA programmes:

  • Winifred Hyde Prize
  • Joseph Prize
  • Christine Swayne Memorial Award
  • First Year Essay Prize, for current 1st year students
  • Hayley Davis Prize, awarded each year for the best BA or MA dissertation in linguistics 

These awards are made on academic merit after end-of–year examination results have been released, and, with the exception of the First Year Essay Prize, no application for them is necessary. Further details of ECL prizes are available from the Departmental Administrator, Richard Bolley, telephone 020 7919 7752

External links

The Emory Elliott Memorial Prize for Undergraduate Essays. Goldsmiths students have been awarded this prize in the past.

  • 2009 (1st place) Thomas Mcmullen
  • 2010 (2nd place) Beth Guilding
  • 2010 (3rd place) Roxanna Drayson

The Paper Shell Review is a new journal which is dedicated to publishing outstanding undergraduate work on literary studies.