The Goldsmiths Prize 2020

The Goldsmiths Prize logo

Fiction at its most novel

Prize intro

The Goldsmiths Prize was established in 2013 to celebrate the qualities of creative daring associated with the College and to reward fiction that breaks the mould or extends the possibilities of the novel form. The annual prize of £10,000 is awarded to a book that is deemed genuinely novel and which embodies the spirit of invention that characterizes the genre at its best.

2020 competition

We are now open for submissions  See the rules and how to enter.


Prize intro

Key dates

Prize open for submissions

24 January 2020

Closing date for submission of entry forms

5pm, 27 March 2020

Closing date for submission of finished books

5pm, 26 June 2020

Shortlist announced

30 September 2020

Winner announced

11 November 2020

The Judges

The Goldsmiths Prize app is available for tablet and mobile

The Goldsmiths Prize App for iOS

Download the app to read information on all the nominated books, watch interviews and readings, explore the fresco that lies at the heart of Ali Smith's 2014 winner How to be Both, and see pages from the manuscript and first draft of Eimear McBride's A Girl is a Half-formed Thing.

Find out more and download the app for free