Academic Progress Committee

Primary page content

Parent body

Academic Board


Academic Progress Committee considers taught students referred for dismissal on grounds of unsatisfactory academic progress.

It has powers to permanently dismiss or temporarily suspend students, or it may advise a student who is ineligible to continue to repeat some or all of the previous year of study either full-time or part-time. APC does not consider cases of academic failure.

The Committee consists of five members who are, or have been previously, Heads of Department. In each case referred, a panel of three is picked – avoiding any conflicts of interest.

The Committee publishes guidance and model correspondence for the use of departments in both communicating with students regarding poor attendance and referring students to the Committee.

To dismiss or suspend temporarily a student on grounds of unsatisfactory academic progress, other than in respect of failure in a public examination, which is covered in the Academic Manual under Attendance, Progression for Taught Programmes and Progression for Research Programmes.

Five Heads or former Heads of academic departments, of whom three will be invited by the Secretary to the Committee to act in any particular case, having regard to any possible conflicts of interest. Dr Stephen Graham [Music] 2020
Mr Gerald Lidstone [ICCE] 2020
Dr Juliet Sprake [Design] 2020
Dr Uttara Natarajan [ECL] 2018
Prof Richard Noble [Art] 2020
Secretary Normally a Member of the Complaints and Appeals Team