Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee

Primary page content

Parent body


  1. To invite and consider suggestions from members of the College for the conferment of honorary awards
  2. To make recommendations to Council that the College should award Honorary Degrees or Fellowships to particular individuals
  3. To make recommendations to Council on the College's response to any invitation from the University of London to make proposals concerning Honorary Degrees, or the process of awarding Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee [HDFC] Membership


Chair: Warden

Professor Frances Corner

 ex officio

Three independent members appointed by Council, of whom at least two shall be members of Council



Lynn Pearcy

to 2023

Sir David Reddaway

to 2022 (eot)

The member of Council elected by the non-academic staff

Dr Elizabeth Williams

ex officio

A member elected by Academic Board, to be a member of Academic Board at the time of election



Two members of the academic staff elected by Academic Board

Amanda Kipling

to 2023

Dr Carole Sweeney

to 2024

Deputy Warden

Professor Elisabeth Hill

ex officio

Chief Operating Officer

Jilly Court (interim)

ex officio 

Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tom Morgan

ex officio

Director of Development and Alumni

Alison Woolley

ex officio

A full member of the Students' Union appointed by the Student Assembly

to be determined



to be determined


For Minutes please contact governance@gold.ac.uk