Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee


Parent bodies: Council & Academic Board.

Decisions of Committee are reported to Council and Academic Board.

Terms of Reference

  1. To invite and consider suggestions from members of the College for the conferment of honorary awards.
  2. To make recommendations to Council that the College should award Honorary Degrees or Fellowships to particular individuals.
  3. To make recommendations to Council on the College's response to any invitation from the University of London to make proposals concerning Honorary Degrees, or the process of awarding Honorary Degrees.


For Minutes please contact governance@gold.ac.uk


Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee [HDFC] Membership


Chair: Warden

Mr Patrick Loughrey

 ex officio

Three independent members appointed by Council, of whom at least two shall be members of Council

Mr Nick Barron


Ms Lynn Pearcy


Sir David Reddaway


The member of Council elected by the non-academic staff

Mr Ben Fowler


A member elected by Academic Board, to be a member of Academic Board at the time of election

Mr Gerald Lidstone


Two members of the academic staff elected by Academic Board

Ms Amanda Kipling


Professor Sanjay Seth


Deputy Warden

Professor Elisabeth Hill

ex officio

Registrar and Secretary

Ms Helen Watson

ex officio 

Head of Communications and Public Relations

Mr Tom Morgan

ex officio

Director of Development and Alumni

Ms Alison Woolley

ex officio

A full member of the Students' Union appointed by the Student Assembly

Mr Joe Leam



 Ms Giorgia Cowan