Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee

Primary page content

Parent body

Academic Board


The Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee (LTSEC) is the key strategic committee of Academic Board responsible for strategic planning and policy development matters relating to all aspects of learning, teaching, enhancement, and the student experience.

These include the quality of learning and teaching in relation to any award with which the College is associated; and matters relating to student experience, including student voice, student support and retention.

LTSEC has three subcommittees which focus on particular aspects of its overall remit and report to it: Programme Scrutiny Sub Committee (PSSC), Student Access Participation and Outcomes Sub Committee (SAPOSC) and Student Transitions Programme Board.

Terms of reference


  1. To consider and advise on the development of the College’s overall Learning, Teaching and Assessment [LTA] Strategy ensuring that it takes account of contemporary pedagogic research and best practice, and to recommend a strategy to Academic Board;
  2. To establish clear communications with the Learning and Teaching Committees of individual departments in each School, in order to facilitate effective development and monitoring of departmental LTA strategies and action plans;
  3. To monitor the College’s progress against LTA Strategy objectives and associated action plans;
  4. To develop and promote best practice and innovation in learning and teaching, taking account of research and development work undertaken in the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre (TaLIC);
  5. To develop and promote the College’s approaches to enhancing the student experience, and for encouraging the internal sharing of good practice with respect to student experience including, student voice, student wellbeing, retention and engagement;
  6. To receive reports and minutes from its sub-committees and to approve their recommendations as appropriate;
  7. To consider and report to Academic Board on the following, together with any proposals which require action by the Board or by other individuals or bodies within the College:
    • annual reports relating to the quality of teaching and learning;
    • annual reports relating to student survey data (internal and external), including the NSS;
    • reports relating to the College’s Access and Participation Plan, including confirmation of Departmental Development Plans produced in response to APP (and other) targets and monitored by SAPOSC;
  8. To consider, and advise Academic Board on, strategic planning and policy development matters relating to learning resources


Chair: Pro-Warden (Learning, Teaching and Enhancement) Professor Elisabeth Hill ex officio
Head of Quality Mrs Cathryn Thompson ex officio
Chair of Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee Professor Richard Grayson ex officio
Director of Library Services Ms Marilyn Clarke ex officio
Academic Director of the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre Dr Debbie Custance ex officio
Academic Director International Development and Academic Partnerships Dr Tara Page ex officio
Director of IT Ms Helen Cocker / Mr Philip Gourlay (joint-acting interim) ex officio
Organisational Development and Equalities Manager Ms Bethan Williams ex officio
One academic representative from each School to be confirmed  
to be confirmed  
to be confirmed  
Up to three additional members of the academic staff appointed by the Chair to be confirmed  
to be confirmed  
to be confirmed  
The Education Officer of the Student's Union to be confirmed ex officio
One other sabbatical officer of the Students' Union to be confirmed  
Secretary Mr Gareth Bodrell  

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.


For minutes please contact governance (@gold.ac.uk)