Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee

Primary page content

Parent body

Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee (LTSEC)


Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee (PSSC) has delegated responsibility from LTSEC for considering, advising on, and ultimately formally approving (a) the proposed content and structure of new programmes, and (b) amendments to existing programmes, including their withdrawal.

Terms of reference

  1. To scrutinise and give formal approval to the detailed structure and module specifications* for new taught and research programmes and short courses, reporting decisions for noting at LTSEC
  2. To scrutinise and approve proposals for amendments to the structure or module specifications of taught and research programmes of study, including short courses
  3. To consider and approve proposals to withdraw programmes of study with specific reference to the arrangements in place to protect academic standards and the quality of learning opportunities for students who have not yet completed the programme

* Approval by the Sub-Committee of programmes involving delivery by collaborative partner institutions shall be in accordance with the Collaborative Provision Framework.


Chair: A member of the academic staff appointed by the Warden Professor Adam Dinham to 2024
External academic vacancy  
Academic Director Distance Learning Dr Marco Gillies ex officio
Associate Director (Student Support Services) Rocchi Acierno ex officio
Head of Quality Cathryn Thompson ex officio
A Representative of Library Services Marilyn Clarke ex officio
A Representative of the Careers Service Katy Gordon ex officio
Two academic staff representatives from each School Dr Matthew Ward [Design] to 2023
Dr Martina Tazzioli [Politics & Internatiol Relations] to 2023
Dr Deirdre Osborne [ECW] to 2023 (eot)
Dr Alexndra Dymock [Law] to 2023
Sian Prime [ICCE] to 2023 (eot)
Dr Emily Rosamond [Visual Cultures] to 2023
A sabbatical officer of the Students Union Niquella Simpson-West to 2022
A representative of the Students' Union Adnan Rahman to 2022
Secretary Phoebe Riley-Gowing  

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.



For minutes please contact governance (