Quality and Standards Sub-Committee

Primary page content

Parent body

Learning, Teaching and Enhancement Committee


The Quality and Standards Sub-Committee (QSSC) has delegated responsibility from Learning, Teaching and Enhancement Committee (LTEC) for considering, advising on, and developing the College’s framework and policies for assuring the quality and standards of all awards; and for monitoring and maintaining the effectiveness with which these are implemented. 

Its remit includes oversight of the academic regulations, policies and procedures for programmes leading to Goldsmiths awards delivered on-campus and in collaboration with Partner Institutions.

QSSC pays particular regard to the impact of its work in relation to equality, diversity and inclusion.

All matters listed below for which it gives approval or undertakes a monitoring function are formally reported to LTEC.

Terms of reference

  1. To monitor the impact of Goldsmiths academic regulations, policies and procedures for taught and research programmes and make recommendations to Academic Board
  2. To monitor Goldsmiths Periodic Review (PR) process and receive reports, to consider and approve PR action plans, and to monitor their subsequent implementation, reporting to LTEC on any matters that require further consideration
  3. To scrutinise the outcomes of Goldsmiths assessment processes, with particular consideration of the profiles of student performance across student groups, programmes and departments, and in relation to subject-relevant benchmarks, drawing any significant issues and recommendations to the attention of LTEC
  4. To monitor the appointment of External Examiners for taught programmes, and consider overarching recommendations and good practice stemming from External Examiner Reports annually
  5. To advise LTEC, if requested, on issues or internal actions arising from (a) reports by external agencies or professional bodies concerning the quality of the College's provision, or (b) submissions for external review
  6. To scrutinise the annual report of extenuating circumstances applications/decisions and report to Academic Board
  7. To scrutinise the annual report of student comlaints and academic appeals and make recommendations to LTEC, as appropriate
  8. To inform Council’s required annual assurance about the continuous improvement of the student academic experience, of student outcomes and of the reliability of degree standards


Chair: Pro-Warden (Learning, Teaching and Enhancement) Professor Elisabeth Hill ex officio
Director of Governance and Legal Services Mr Matthew Brooks ex officio
Head of Quality Mrs Cathryn Thompson ex officio
Associate Director (Student Administration) vacancy ex officio
Two members of the academic staff from each School Dr Anastasia Stouraiti (A&H) (History) to 2020
Dr Stephen Graham (A&H) (Music) to 2020
Dr Andrea Mura (C&S) (Politics and International Relations) to 2022
Dr Milly Williamson (C&S) (Media, Communications and Cultural Studies) to 2021
Ms Sue Dixon (PSST) (Education) to 2020
Dr Jennifer George (PSST) (Computing) to 2022
One Departmental Business Manager from each School Ms Claire Jarman (C&S) (Sociology) to 2022
Mr David Smith (A&H) (TaP) to 2021
Dr Rose Hepworth (PSST) (Computing) to 2023 (eot)
A sabbatical officer of the Students' Union Ms Lauren Corelli to 2020
Secretary Ms Shahreen Haider  

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.


For minutes please contact governance (@gold.ac.uk)