Research and Enterprise Committee

Primary page content

Parent body

Academic Board


The Research and Enterprise Committee [REC] is the key strategic committee of Academic Board responsible for all aspects of research and enterprise, including research training, research ethics and integrity, and knowledge exchange/transfer activities in partnership with external organisations and businesses.

All matters listed below for which it gives formal approval or undertakes a monitoring function are reported to Academic Board.

Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee and Postgraduate Research Board are responsible for particular aspects of REC’s overall remit and report to it.

  1. To consider and advise on the development of the College’s overall Research and Enterprise Strategy, and to recommend a strategy to Academic Board for formal approval
  2. To consider and advise on the development of related policies, procedures and action plans
  3. To establish clear communications with individual departments and Schools, facilitating the development of effective departmental research and enterprise strategies which are informed and appropriately supported by central mechanisms
  4. To monitor the implementation of relevant action plans, and review progress against strategic objectives at College and departmental level
  5. To oversee the College's participation and performance in major research assessment exercises, in particular the REF and its successors; and to evaluate outcomes, reporting to Academic Board and Council
  6. To consider matters relating to the establishment, monitoring and closure of individual Research Centres and Units, keeping general policies under review and revision as appropriate
  7. To advise the Pro-Warden (Research and Enterprise) on matters relating to College academic publications
  8. To monitor the implementation of research leave policies and procedures, reviewing them as appropriate, and to consider staff reports on completed periods of study leave
  9. To receive minutes and reports from the Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee [REISC], considering any recommendations and taking action as appropriate
  10. To receive minutes and reports from the Postgraduate Research Board [PRB], monitoring PhD completion rates and developments with Doctoral Training Centres, and drawing any issues and recommendations to the attention of SMT and/or Academic Board as appropriate

Chair: Pro-Warden (Research and Enterprise) Professor David Oswell ex officio
Chair of the Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee Professor Anna Traianou ex officio
Pro-Warden Academic Professor Paul Rowlett ex officio
Dean of the Graduate School Professor Mark Johnson ex officio
Director of Research, Innovation and Knowledge Exchange Vivienne Hurley ex officio
Academic Lead for Enterprise Sian Prime ex officio
Academic Lead for Knowledge Exchange Professor Jonathan Freeman ex officio
Research Excellence Manager vacancy ex officio
Director of Library Services Ozden Sahin ex officio
One academic staff member from each School Dr Tobie Kerridge [Design] to 2025
Dr Larissa Soldatova [Computing] to 2024
Professor Mirca Madianou [MCCS] to 2025 (eot)
Up to four additional members of academic staff Dr John Price [History] to 2024
Dr Berta Joncus [Music] to 2023 
Dr Virginie Barral [Law] to 2024
Dr Oonagh Murphy [ICCE] to 2023
Secretary Jennie San   


For minutes please contact governance (