Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee


Parent body: Research and Enterprise Committee

The overarching responsibility of the Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee [REISC] is to promote a research environment that is underpinned by a culture of integrity and based on good governance, best practice and support for the development of researchers.  Reflecting this, it has the interlinked functions of (a) providing support and advice to researchers and others on matters relating to research integrity[1] and (b) ensuring that any ethics issues associated with research projects conducted by College staff or students of any level (and whether externally or internally funded), have been appropriately considered, addressed, and approved before the projects begin.

All matters listed below for which it gives formal approval or undertakes a monitoring function are reported to Research and Enterprise Committee [REC].

[1] in accordance with The Concordat to Support Research Integrity (Universities UK, 2012)

Terms of Reference

  1. To keep under review College guidelines on issues related to research integrity, with a view to ensuring that research conducted under the aegis of the College complies with recognised research integrity standards; that the public, staff and students are protected from harm; and that the reputation of the College is safeguarded.
  2. To advise and make recommendations to REC concerning changes to relevant College guidelines, policies, and procedures.
  3. To establish and implement procedures for reviewing and evidencing the integrity of research projects carried out by staff and students within the College.
  4. To assess the ethical and other integrity-related issues raised by projects submitted to it for consideration, and to grant or withhold approval from such projects.[1]

[1] Note: An application will not be rejected without allowing the applicant the opportunity of either discussing the application with the Committee or of making acceptable amendments to the application, whichever is appropriate. Approval of schemes may be subject to the approval of any other institution concerned.


Research Ethics and Integrity Sub-Committee [REISC] Membership


Chair: Academic Director for Research Policy

Professor Simon McVeigh

ex officio

Two independent members appointed by the Warden



Dr Kieran Fenby-Hulse (University of Coventry)

to 2021 (eot)

Research Office Representative

Ms Tracy Banton

ex officio

Two Early Career Reserachers


Dr Sarah Wiseman [Computing]

to 2021

Dr Fay Dennis [Sociology]

to 2021

One member of academic staff from each School

Dr Caroline Rix [Psychology]

to 2021

Professor Sophie Day [Anthopology]

to 2019

Dr Pia Pichler [ECL]

to 2020 (eot)

Up to six additional members of academic staff

Mr Mark Taylor [STaCS]

to 2021

Dr Kelly Meng [ICCE]

to 2021

Professor Marsha Rosengarten [Sociology]

to 2019

Mr Steve Keirl [Design]

to 2021 (eot)

Dr Alex Watson [History]

to 2021 (eot)

Ms Nicole Wolf [Visual Cultures]

to 2021 (eot)

Two student representatives

Mr Joe Leam

to 2019

Ms Xiao Lu

to 2019


Ms Jennie San (interim)

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.


For minutes please contact