

# Academic Development Committee – Terms of Reference

2023-24

### **Parent body**

**Academic Board** 

## **Purpose**

Academic Development Committee (ADC) is the key committee of Academic Board responsible for strategic development and evaluation of the College's portfolio of academic programmes, delivered independently or in partnership with other institutions.

It considers the relationship of new programme ideas and proposals to strategically defined principles and advises SMT and Academic Board on the strengths and risks associated with possible new taught programmes from a range of perspectives including their intellectual content, their fit with patterns of student demand, their proposed modes of delivery, and the associated business cases.

It gives approval for programmes in terms of their proposed thematic content and broadly defined structure; if SMT endorses launch of the programme following an evaluation of financial and other strategic issues, this is subject to approval of the detailed structure and module content by Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee.

ADC also evaluates and monitors potential formal institutional partnerships, in particular those relating to collaborative provision and other academic initiatives, advising and making recommendations to SMT and Academic Board.

The detailed work on these matters is undertaken by the Academic Partnerships Committee, which reports to Academic Board. Ongoing issues relating to collaborative provision of academic programmes, once partnerships are established, are considered by LTEC or its sub-committees as appropriate.

#### Terms of reference

1. To consider strategic planning and policy development matters relating to the College's profile of taught and research programmes (whether leading to degrees or not), the marketing of and recruitment to these programmes throughout the

- world, and overall student recruitment patterns; and to make recommendations to Academic Board and SMT concerning these issues.
- 2. To consider and advise on the development of an overall Academic Development Strategy for approval by Academic Board (taking into account factors including those listed in point 1 above).
- 3. To facilitate and monitor implementation of the Academic Development Strategy, establishing clear communications with the individual departments in each School in order to ensure that proposals for new programmes and partnerships are well-informed by strategic considerations and that departments are effectively supported in developing such proposals.
- 4. To evaluate proposals and business cases for new academic programmes (including proposals received from Partner Institutions), approving proposals in terms of their proposed academic content/structure/objectives, and making recommendations and commentaries to SMT concerning other strategic or resource implications which may be relevant to its decision on whether to launch a particular programme.
- 5. To keep recruitment patterns under review, highlighting and making recommendations to SMT concerning any programmes whose recruitment levels indicate either concerns about their pedagogic/financial sustainability or potential for growth.
- 6. Receiving and noting decisions to close programmes for a range of reasons, with Programmes Scrutiny Sub-Committee approving the arrangements for their closure and reporting to Academic Board.

#### **Members**

Composition	Member	Term
Chair: Pro-Warden Academic	Professor Ernest Caldwell	ex officio
Director of Communications, Marketing and Recruitment	Dr Stephen Lake	ex officio
Director of Strategic Planning and Projects	Dr Clive Hayter	ex officio
Head of Student Success	Tobin Webb	ex officio
Associate Director Internationalisation	Geraint Fox	ex officio
A Representative of the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre	Peter Roberts	ex officio

Composition	Member	Term
One member of the academic staff	Dr Francis Gilbert	to 2025
from each School	[Educational Studies - PSST]	(eot)
	Dr Brett St Louis	to 2026
	Ian Gardiner [Music - A&H]	to 2024
Up to three additional members of academic staff	Dr Pauline Muir (PSST)	to 2025
	Vacancy (C&S)	
	Dr Corinne Quin (A&H)	to 2025
Students' Union President	Victoria Chwa	ex officio
A representative of the Students'	Gammorah Britton-Gibson	Ex officio
Union		
Secretary	Ben Fowler	

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.

#### **VERSION CONTROL**

Full revision of ToR	September 2023	Governance Secretariat
Approval	20 September 2023	Nominations and
		Governance Committee
Approved	4 October 2023	Council
Updated membership	12 October 2023	Governance Secretariat