

# Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee – Terms of Reference

#### 2023-24

## **Parent body**

Learning, Teaching and Student Experience Committee (LTSEC)

### Purpose

Programme Scrutiny Sub-Committee (PSSC) has delegated responsibility from LTSEC for considering, advising on, and ultimately formally approving (a) the proposed content and structure of new programmes, and (b) amendments to existing programmes, including their withdrawal.

#### **Terms of reference**

- 1. To scrutinise and give formal approval to the detailed structure and module specifications\* for new taught and research programmes and short courses, reporting decisions for noting at LTSEC.
- 2. To scrutinise and approve proposals for amendments to the structure or module specifications of taught and research programmes of study, including short courses.
- 3. To consider and approve proposals to withdraw programmes of study with specific reference to the arrangements in place to protect academic standards and the quality of learning opportunities for students who have not yet completed the programme.

\* Approval by the Sub-Committee of programmes involving delivery by collaborative partner institutions shall be in accordance with the Collaborative Provision Framework.

### Members

Composition	Member	Term
Chair: A member of the academic staff appointed by the Warden	Professor Tara Page	to 2025

Composition	Member	Term
Associate Director (Student Support Services)	Rocchi Acierno	ex officio
Associate Director (Curriculum Developments)	Ben Fowler	ex officio
Head of Student Success	Tobin Webb	ex officio
A Representative of Library Services	Andrew Preater	ex officio
A Representative of the Careers Service	Yasmina Mallam-Hassam	ex officio
A Representative of the Teaching and Learning Innovation Centre	Andrew Linton	ex officio
Two academic staff representatives from each School	Dr Tamsin Alexander [Music – A&H)]	to 2026
	Vacancy (A&H)	
	Vacancy (PSST)	
	Dr Vicky Macleroy [Educational Studies] (PSST)	to 2024
	Dr Alex Dymock [Law] (C&S)	to 2024 (extension requested as been on mat leave)
	Dr Omega Douglas [Journalism – C&S)	to 2026
A sabbatical officer of the Students Union	Gammorah Britton-Gibson	to 2024
A representative of the Students' Union	Nour Matar	to 2024
Secretary	Gareth Bodrell	

Terms of office on committees are for three years, renewable for three further years. If the letters "eot" appear against a person's name in a membership listing, this indicates

that he or she will reach the maximum term as a member of the body concerned on 31 August in the year specified.

#### **VERSION CONTROL**

Full revision of ToR	September 2023	Governance Secretariat
Approval by Nominations & Governance Committee	20 September 2023	
Approved by Council	4 October 2023	
Updated membership	12 October 2023	Governance Secretariat