2023 Prize

Key dates

Prize open for submissions 27 January 2023
Deadline for submission of entry forms 5pm, 31 March 2023
Deadline for submission of finished books 5pm, 23 June 2023
Shortlist announced 4 October 2023
Winner announced 8 November 2023


The Judges

Tom Lee (Chair)

Tom Lee writes fiction and memoir. He is the author of a collection of short stories, Greenfly, and a novel, The Alarming Palsy of James Orr.

He lives in London and is Lecturer in Creative Writing at Goldsmiths.

Maddie Mortimer

Maddie Mortimer is a writer who lives in London.

In 2022, her first novel, Maps of Our Spectacular Bodies, was longlisted for the Booker Prize, shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize, and won the Desmond Elliot Prize, awarded to the best debut novel written in English and published in the UK and Ireland. It has since been translated into 14 languages and has featured on the 'best books of 2022' lists in The Sunday Times, The New Statesman, The New Yorker and Time Magazine, among others.

Helen Oyeyemi

Helen Oyeyemi is the author of ten books, including What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours, Gingerbread, Peaces, and the forthcoming Parasol Against the Axe.

She lives in Prague.

Ellen Peirson-Hagger

Ellen Peirson-Hagger is assistant culture editor of the New Statesman.

Her work includes reviews of books and music, interviews with prominent figures and reports on the culture industries.