Royal Literary Fellows

There are three Fellows from the Royal Literary Fund placed at Goldsmiths for 2020/2021.

Primary page content

All appointments for 2020/21 have now finished. Appointments for 2021/22 will resume from September 2021 onwards. 

The Royal Literary Fellows are professional writers from the Royal Literary Fund who offer one-to-one tutorials at Goldsmiths to help students improve their academic writing skills. The principal aim of the Fellows' work is to foster good writing practise across all disciplines. 

They offer a free, confidential service to students of any discipline, at any level of study. Staff are also welcome to book an appointment. 

Sign up for a one-to-one tutorial to help you: 

  • Plan your study time. 
  • Focus your reading for essay, dissertation or thesis writing.
  • Express your ideas more clearly.
  • Answer grammar and punctuation questions.
  • Discover reading to improve your writing and editing skills. 
  • Increase your writing skills with the aim of improving your grades. 
  • Improve any academic writing – essays, reports, theses, dissertations, book chapters. 
  • Please note that RLF Writing Fellows do not undertake proofreading or EAP tuition.  

Book an appointment

Royal Literary Fellows appointments for 2020/21 have now finished. Booking will open again in September 2021 for appointments in 2021/22. Please check back in September 2021 for further information. 

Meet the Fellows

Marianne Kavanagh

Marianne Kavanagh is an author and journalist. Her first two novels were translated into eight languages and sold all over the world. Her third and fourth novels are published by Hodder & Stoughton: Should You Ask Me and Disturbance. 

As a journalist, Marianne started out on Woman magazine, became chief sub of the Tatler and the Telegraph Saturday magazine, and joined Marie Claire as deputy editor, overseeing both production and features. After Marie Claire, she went freelance, writing features for national magazines, newspapers and websites and editing nonfiction books on art, education, health and finance.

Rachel Seiffert

Rachel Seiffert

Rachel Seiffert has published four novels, A Boy in Winter, The Dark Room, Afterwards, and The Walk Home, and one collection of short stories, Field Study.  Her novels have been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, and longlisted three times for the Women’s Prize for Fiction, most recently in 2018.

In 2003, she was named one of Granta's Best of Young British Novelists; in 2011 she received the EM Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters; and, last year, the US Association of Jewish Libraries Honor Book Award.