Associate Musicians

Goldsmiths is pleased to welcome The Kreutzer Quartet as Associate Musicians for the CMRU and also as part of the Composing module for 2014-2016.

Primary page content

Kreutzer String Quartet

The Kreutzer Quartet has forged an enviable reputation as one of the Europe’s most dymanic and innovative string quartets. They are the dedicatees of numerous works, and over many years forged creative partnerships with composers including Sir Michael Tippett, David Matthews, Michael Finnissy, Judith Weir, and Haflidi Hallgrimsson. They have a particularly strong relationship to a cross-section of leading American composers, having collaborated intensively with the great George Rochberg in the last few years of his life, as long as working closely with figures as Elliott Schwartz, and the prolific symphonist Gloria Coates. As recording artists they have won critical acclaim for their discs on the Naxos, Metier, and Chandos labels. They are Artists in Association at Quartet at York University, Goldsmiths University and at Wiltons Music Hall. 

The members of the Kreutzer Quartet are Peter Sheppard Skærved, Neil Heyde, Mihailo Trandafilovski, Morgan Goff.

Previous Ensembles have included the Allegri String Quartet and Ensemble Exposé.

Allegri String Quartet

“…the shimmer and grace and intelligence of this ensemble is riveting”.

The Independent on Sunday

The Allegri Quartet is Britain's longest-running chamber music ensemble, sustained over six decades by successive generations of the finest international performers. Their reputation for distinctive and stimulating interpretations is rooted in tradition yet alive to contemporary trends.

A commitment to refreshing the repertoire had led the Allegris to give more than 60 world premières since 1964, including specially commissioned pieces by leading composers such as James MacMillan, Jonathan Harvey and Colin Matthews.

The Allegri Quartet also plays a key role in training the next generation of string and chamber music players, and enjoys long-standing teaching residencies at Durham University, the University of East Anglia, Nottingham, Bangor and Middlesex.

Recent Allegri projects included the world première of a new commission by Anthony Payne and a complete cycle of Beethoven's string quartets over two seasons at Kings Place in London and the Holywell Music Room, Oxford.

Ensemble Exposé

Ensemble Exposé was formed in 1984 by the composers Richard Barrett, Roger Redgate and Michael Finnissy and has become known for its commitment to presenting the most challenging of contemporary music.

The ensemble has assembled an international membership of virtuoso musicians and a repertoire whose power and directness is matched by its lack of intellectual compromise. The group has given extensive concerts and broadcasts throughout Europe and has appeared at many of the major festivals on new music in France, Germany, Holland, Hungary, Italy and Sweden as well as appearing at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

The ensemble records regularly for the BBC and has broadcast on Radio France, Dutch Radio, Hessische Rundfunks, RAI (Italy) and Swedish Radio. It has been featured on BBC TV’s Omnibus and was a resident ensemble at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in 1986, 1988, 1990 (when on each occasion prizes for both performance and composition were awarded to several of its members) and the International Bartok Festival and Seminar in Szombathely, Hungary.

In 1995 the ensemble received a project grant from the London Arts Board for a series of concerts featuring the music of the American composer and improviser Anthony Braxton. Ensemble Exposé is featured an CD recording of music by Michael Finnissy, Fabrice Fitch, Edwin Roxburgh, Roger Redgate and most recently released a CD of ensemble works by Brian Ferneyhough.

  • Roger Redgate artistic director
  • Isabelle Carré  flute
  • Christopher Redgate  oboe
  • Andrew Sparling clarinet
  • Julian Faultless  horn
  • Caroline Balding  violin
  • Gordon Mackay  violin
  • Bridget Carey  viola
  • Robin Michael  cello
  • Corrado Canonici  bass
  • Julian Warburton  percussion
  • Mark Knoop  piano

Concert Series

INTERLACE is a concert series at Goldsmiths presenting free improvisation, electronics and interactive compositions to explore the relationship and role of technology within social structures. INTERLACE runs in its ninth year and featured a wide range of international performers. It is a continuous series of concerts aiming at 3 or 4 times per year.

To join the INTERLACE mailing list, please email interlace. For any suggestions for groups/musicians email Sebastian Lexer.