Unit for Sound Practice Research People

Meet the researchers involved with the Unit for Sound Practice Research.

Primary page content

image of Professor John Levack Drever

Professor John Levack Drever

John Levack Drever is Professor of Acoustic Ecology and Sound Art at Goldsmiths, University of London, where he leads the Unit for Sound Practice Research (SPR). He studied Music at the University of Wales, Bangor (1992-95), followed by an MMus study in Electroacoustic Music Composition at the University of East Anglia (1995-6).

In 2001 he was awarded a PhD from Dartington College of Arts, for a programme of research titled 'Phonographies: Practical and Theoretical Explorations into Composing with Disembodied Sound'. Following his PhD, Drever co-ordinated ‘Sounding Dartmoor - a public soundscape study’, in collaboration with The Touring Exhibition of Sound Environments (TESE), Aune Head Arts, and the Digital Crowd, University of Plymouth. 

Image of Ian Stonehouse

Ian Stonehouse

Ian Stonehouse trained as a fine artist at the University of Wolverhampton with experimental filmmaker Guy Sherwin and painters Paresh Chakraborty & Paul Hempton. He has worked variously as a film, sound, video & animation tutor at the Light House Media Centre in Wolverhampton, the University of Wolverhampton and Middlesex University, as well as a freelance sound recordist and film/video editor.

Prior to Goldsmiths, he was employed at London Electronic Arts (latterly the Lux Centre for Film, Video & Digital Arts) in Hoxton Square, London, working with artists and film/video-makers such as Jane & Louise Wilson, Gillian Wearing, John Maybury, Gary Hume and many others.

Steering Group:

  • Dr Iris Garrelfs (MMus Sonic Arts Pathway Leader) 
  • Prof John Levack Drever (Professor of Acoustic Ecology and Sound Art, Head of SPR)
  • Ian Stonehouse (Head of the Electronic Music Studios)
  • Dr Marcus Leadley (EMS Studio Manager)
  • Dr James Bulley
  • Daniel James Ross

Visiting Fellows:

  • Sarah Angliss
  • Helen Frosi
  • Colin Black
  • Maria Chavez
  • Gilbert Nuono
  • Lawrence Upton
  • Dr Hiroshi Yoshida