How to apply to Study Abroad for a term

Find out more about how to apply, and who to contact in your department.

Primary page content

If you're interested in studying abroad for a term, you should first talk to your personal tutor about your suitability.

Studying for a term at a partner university

2020-2021

Applications to study abroad in 2020-21 academic year have now closed.

Sign up to our newsletter for ongoing information and alerts. Applications for the following academic year usually open in late autumn. Below is information on how the application process worked this year. Please note this might change in future years.

Selection

Departments have their own methods of selection, but the greatest emphasis is placed on your personal statement element of the application.

Once the application deadline has passed your application will be considered by a panel within your department. When making their decision the panel will consider:

  • Academic Performance
  • Motivation for the visit
  • No previous experience in the receiving country (e.g. not returning to a country of origin)
  • Ability to represent Goldsmiths favourably

If you are selected, you will then be nominated to the partner university and will be required to fill out an additional application form to finalise your study abroad placement.

Department contacts

DepartmentNameEmail (@gold.ac.uk)
Anthropology Isaac Marrero Guillamon i.marrero
Computing Frederic Leymarie f.leymarie
Design Stuart Bannocks s.bannocks
Educational Studies Betty Liebovich b.liebovich
English Jackie Rattray (Malta)
Jackie Rattray (Vienna)
Joan Anim-Addo (Trento)
Julia Ng (Humboldt)
j.rattray
j.rattray
j.anim-addo
j.ng
History Simon Huxtable
Nevenka Martin
s.huxtable
n.martin
ICCE Oonagh Murphy o.murphy
IMS Tiziana Foresti t.foresti
MCCS Gholam Khiabany g.khiabany
Music Naomi Matsumoto n.matsumoto
Politics & IR Martina Tazzioli martina.tazzioli
Psychology Marinella Cappalletti m.cappelletti
Sociology Michael Guggenheim m.guggenheim
STaCS Caroline Frizell c.frizell
Theatre & Performance Clare Finburgh c.finburgh
Visual Cultures Stefan Nowotny s.nowotny

 

Application tips

Study abroad opportunities can be competitive so spaces are not guaranteed. Here are a few tips to help make a good application:

  • Research the different options available and think about which location is best for you both academically and in terms of lifestyle
  • Talk to your personal tutor and Erasmus Academic Advisor about your choice. You may also be able to speak to a student who has returned from their exchange for their advice. You can speak to the Global Opportunities team if you have any additional queries
  • Write a good supporting statement including:
    • Why you want to study abroad
    • Why you have chosen the institution and country
    • What the benefit will be for you
    • How you will be a good ambassador for Goldsmiths whilst away
  • Write in a clear and concise style. Hemngway (hemingwayapp.com) is a useful tool for losing that waffle
  • Double-check you have filled in everything correctly and that you submit the application before the deadline
  • Check out our How to write a great Go Abroad application blog post