Regulations for Taught Programmes

Primary page content

3.2 Assessment


Students must follow specific instructions for assessments.

Failure to do so may result in a penalty or non-valid attempt. This includes submitting work for assessment by the published deadline and presenting themselves for written or timed examinations at the published time and place.


All assessments should be conducted in English unless the purpose of the assessment is to test the ability of students in another language.


A degree, diploma, certificate or academic credit may not be awarded to a student unless they have satisfied the examiners in accordance with the requirements of the Programme Specification.


All assessments contributing to the award are marked in accordance with Goldsmiths procedures for marking and moderation.


The pass mark is 40% for undergraduate programmes and 50% for taught postgraduate programmes. Undergraduate programmes that include a foundation year may use separate pass mark and grading criteria for that year. Pass marks for foundation year are published in individual programme specifications.


Goldsmiths publishes full marking criteria for all of its awards.


Marks are awarded for all attempts on assessments contributing to the award.


Valid attempts are awarded marks between 10%-100%.

Non-valid attempts are awarded 0-9%.

The term “non-valid attempt” may comprise any of the following: a non-submission (0%), a plagiarised assessment (0%) or a very bad fail (1-9%).

Students must have made a valid attempt at all summative assessments required of the programme of study to be given an award, unless awarded an Aegrotat degree.


Once a summative assessment has been passed, students may not retake that assessment.


Except where a student presents extenuating circumstances which are deemed acceptable, failed assessments will be capped at the relevant pass mark for subsequent attempts.